The Fifth Draft is Happening #amwriting

Screen Shot 2016-01-09 at 2.45.09 PM

Goodbye 2015, hey there 2016. Guess what time it is? Book editing time!The last time I touched my book draft was in March of 2015. That’s a long ass time to ignore something you created, particularly something you put a hunk of your heart in.

I struggled writing the first draft, because I had to face the demons of my past. This book turned into a confessional, when it was originally meant to be lighthearted and slightly thought-provoking.

Now that I’m about to wade in the fifth draft, I want to be sure that I don’t run away from it, that I’m able to sink my teeth into this book, so that I can have it published by the end of this year.

Since I felt repeatedly tortured by reading the sins of my past, I decided to cut out some of the really ugly parts of the book. It’s another reason why it took me so long to start the fifth draft process.

I came to the following conclusions recently:

  1. I have set myself free of these past transgressions by facing them textually on repeat. Publishing them is not necessary in order for me to gain inner peace.
  2. If anyone of note reads about these dastardly deals, it could tamper with my future successes.
  3. My children could be negatively affected.
  4. I don’t owe the world my life story.

I was going to scrape the part about [*spoiler alert*] my era of thievery, but feel it’s important to share. It was a part of my being for awhile, so it deserves attention.

Honesty is the best policy, but oversharing isn’t cool.

 

Say Something!

